Summer Reading List: Early Readers Edition

This summer is the perfect time of year to nurture the love of reading with books from our Summer Reading List. We’ve hand selected these incredible titles filled with adventure, mystery, and intrigued to keep your child reading all summer!


Early Readers

Meet Woof and Quack by Jamie Swenson

Meet Woof and Quack, a fun pair of pals who defy dog and duck stereotypes. Woof absolutely does not like to fetch—not a ball, not a banana, not that lovely cake. Good thing Quack likes to fetch! The results are laugh-out-loud comical in the debut of this exuberant beginning reader series that’s perfect for fans of Elephant and Piggie and Ballet Cat. Story unfolds in speech bubbles on colorful pages brimming with easy-to-read banter, fun-to-repeat phrases, and silly sound effects—SWOOSH! WHOOSH! WOBBLE! SPLAT!

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

King & Kayla and the Case of the Secret Code by Dori Hillestad Butler

A lovable dog helps his human girl solve a mystery. Kayla and Mason both got mysterious letters, written in code. What does Kayla know? ―The same person left both letters. It’s someone she and Mason both know. The two letters are the same, except for the second word.What does King know? ―Jillian left the letters. What do the letters say?

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Dream March by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson

An inspiring biography introducing children to the civil rights movement, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and the historic march on Washington. Young readers can now learn about one of the greatest civil rights leaders of all time, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., in this Level 3 Step into Reading Biography Reader. Set against Dr. King’s historic march on Washington in the summer of 1963, a moving story and powerful illustrations combine to illuminate not only one of America’s most celebrated leaders, but also one of America’s most celebrated moments.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Pedro for President by Fran Manushkin

Pedro and his friend Katie Woo are both running for class president. Pedro knows he can do great things for his class, if only he gets past that speech!

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Good for Nothing Button by Charise Mericle Harper

Yellow Bird has a button. It does . . . nothing! It is a good for nothing button. Red Bird and Blue Bird are excited to try the button. But when they press it, they discover that the button makes them happy. Happy is something! A flabbergasted Yellow Bird insists the button does nothing. But it sure does seem to be making him mad. Mad is something!

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

It’s Shoe Time by Brian Collier

This lyrical beginning-reader by multi award-winning artist Bryan Collier turns the closet on its heel and redefines what it means to be a pair. Beautifully rendered art paired with rich, rhyming dialog creates a powerful reading experience.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

My Friends Make Me Happy s by jan Thomas

Can you guess what makes Sheep really happy? Here’s a clue . . . it starts with the letter F. It is NOT fish or fans. And it is especially not turnips! That doesn’t even start with the letter F! Featuring Jan Thomas’s wonderfully wacky humor, rowdy repetitions, and hilarious characters, this book is sure to have young readers laughing out loud!

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Trickiest: 19 Sneaky Animals by Steve Jenkins

Trickiest! introduces readers to some of the slyest animals on the planet, and the award-winning author and illustrator Steve Jenkins is here to show you what earned them their reputation. Steve’s Extreme Animals reader series explores nature’s truly superlative animals with the help of illustrations, infographics, facts, and figures while detailing the astounding abilities of critters as small as a frog or as big as a whale. Each installment focuses on truly amazing and unusual animals, making these nonfiction readers accessible, informative, and fascinating.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

You Should Meet Mae Jemison by Laurie Calkhoven

Blast off into space and get to know Mae Jemison—the first African-American woman to ever go to space—with this fascinating, nonfiction Level 3 Ready-to-Read, part of a new series of biographies about people “you should meet.”

Meet Mae Jemison, the first African-American female astronaut! Did you know before Mae was an astronaut, she went to medical school and joined the Peace Corps? But she never forgot her childhood dream to travel to outer space. So in 1985 she applied to NASA’s astronaut training program. On September 12, 1992, Mae flew into space with six other astronauts aboard the space shuttle Endeavour and made history—just like you can if you follow your dreams!

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

I Want to Be a Doctor by Laura Driscoll

For the child who says, “I want to be a doctor when I grow up!” And for any child who wants a gentle behind-the-scenes look at being a doctor. Doctors help sick and hurt people feel better. When little brother Jack hurts his foot, the family gets to meet all kinds of doctors. With this story blending narrative with nonfiction elements, readers meet the doctors who heal broken bones, help fix teeth, and even work in laboratories! I Want to Be a Doctor is part of a new I Can Read series that introduces young readers to important community helpers. This Level One I Can Read is perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences.

The following two tabs change content below.

Latest posts by Justin Hudson (see all)

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This